A Not-So-Scary Book Review: Rooms by Lauren Oliver

header-about-the-book

A Not-So-Scary Book Review: Rooms by Lauren OliverRooms
by Lauren Oliver

Add to Goodreads | Purchase on Amazon
Published by: Harper Collins on 2014-09-23
Genres: Adult, Ghost, Literary, Paranormal, Suspense, Thrillers
Pages: 320
Source: Finished Copy from Publisher
My Rating: four-half-stars

NOTICE: I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The New York Times bestselling author of Before I Fall and the Deliriumtrilogy makes her brilliant adult debut with this mesmerizing story in the tradition of The Lovely Bones, Her Fearful Symmetry, and The Ocean at the End of the Lane—a tale of family, ghosts, secrets, and mystery, in which the lives of the living and the dead intersect in shocking, surprising, and moving ways 

Wealthy Richard Walker has just died, leaving behind his country house full of rooms packed with the detritus of a lifetime. His estranged family—bitter ex-wife Caroline, troubled teenage son Trenton, and unforgiving daughter Minna—have arrived for their inheritance. 

But the Walkers are not alone. Prim Alice and the cynical Sandra, long dead former residents bound to the house, linger within its claustrophobic walls. Jostling for space, memory, and supremacy, they observe the family, trading barbs and reminiscences about their past lives. Though their voices cannot be heard, Alice and Sandra speak through the house itself—in the hiss of the radiator, a creak in the stairs, the dimming of a light bulb.

The living and dead are each haunted by painful truths that will soon surface with explosive force. When a new ghost appears, and Trenton begins to communicate with her, the spirit and human worlds collide—with cataclysmic results.

Elegantly constructed and brilliantly paced, Rooms is an enticing and imaginative ghost story and a searing family drama that is as haunting as it is resonant.
header-book-review

If you’re hoping for some of this:

animated-gif-creepy-scary-ghost-03

…Or this:

animated-gif-creepy-scary-ghost-04

…Or even THIS:

animated-gif-creepy-scary-ghost-05

…Look elsewhere.

But if you’re craving a book that’s more meaningful than cheap thrills and sudden ghostly encounters that do nothing but startle, you just might want to give ROOMS by Lauren Oliver a chance.

Continue reading

Make it a Movie Monday: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

header-make-it-a-movie-02 This meme is a way to discuss the books that have made their way to film, or to talk about the books we wish would be made into a movie. You are open to talk about any book out there in any way that you want. For example: Who would you have play the leads in the movie? Who would direct? Animated or live action? Etc. For more info about how to include your own Make it a Movie Monday (MiaMM) on your blog, click here.

This week my meme will focus on I’LL GIVE YOU THE SUN by Jandy Nelson.
You can see my 5-star review of this sensational book here.

Let me know what you think of my poster and dream cast in the comments! header-about-the-book Make it a Movie Monday: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy NelsonI'll Give You the Sun
by Jandy Nelson

Add to Goodreads | Purchase on Amazon
Published by: Penguin on September 16, 2014
Genres: Bullying, Coming of Age, Death & Dying, Family, Gay & Lesbian, Love & Romance, Romance, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Siblings, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 256

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell 

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah's story to tell. The later years are Jude's. What the twins don't realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.
Continue reading

A Fantasy Series that Must Be Read

header-about-the-book

A Fantasy Series that Must Be ReadThe Burning Sky
by Sherry Thomas

Add to Goodreads | Purchase on Amazon
Published by: Harper Collins on September 17, 2013
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, Love & Romance, Magic, Young Adult
Pages: 496
Source: ARC from Publisher
My Rating: five-stars

NOTICE: I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

It all began with a ruined elixir and a bolt of lightning.

Iolanthe Seabourne is the greatest elemental mage of her generation—or so she's been told. The one prophesied for years to be the savior of The Realm. It is her duty and destiny to face and defeat the Bane, the most powerful tyrant and mage the world has ever known. This would be a suicide task for anyone, let alone a reluctant sixteen-year-old girl with no training.

Guided by his mother's visions and committed to avenging his family, Prince Titus has sworn to protect Iolanthe even as he prepares her for their battle with the Bane. But he makes the terrifying mistake of falling in love with the girl who should have been only a means to an end. Now, with the servants of the tyrant closing in, Titus must choose between his mission—and her life.

cover-perilous-seaThe Perilous Sea

By Sherry Thomas

After spending the summer away from each other, Titus and Iolanthe (still disguised as Archer Fairfax) are eager to return to Eton College to resume their training to fight the Bane. Iolanthe is more committed than ever to fulfilling her destiny—especially with the agents of Atlantis quickly closing in.

Soon after arriving at school, though, Titus makes a shocking discovery, one that makes him question everything he previously believed about their mission. Faced with this devastating realization, Iolanthe is forced to come to terms with her new role, while Titus must choose between following his mother’s prophecies—and forging a divergent path to an unknowable future.

header-book-review

What do you get when you combine a unique magical kingdom with terrible prophecies, spine tingling romance, dangerous creatures, cross dressing at an all-boys boarding school and… fairy tales? You get a brand new series that you won’t want to miss, that’s what!
Continue reading

The Saddest Book Review Ever: Talon by Julie Kagawa

header-about-the-book

The Saddest Book Review Ever: Talon by Julie KagawaTalon
by Julie Kagawa

Add to Goodreads | Purchase on Amazon
Published by: Harlequin on November 4, 2014
Genres: Animals, Dragons, Unicorns & Mythical, Fantasy & Magic, Love & Romance, Love Triangle, Young Adult
Pages: 304
Source: ARC from BEA
My Rating: two-stars

NOTICE: I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Long ago, dragons were hunted to near extinction by the Order of St. George, a legendary society of dragon slayers. Hiding in human form and growing their numbers in secret, the dragons of Talon have become strong and cunning, and they're positioned to take over the world with humans none the wiser.

Ember and Dante Hill are the only sister and brother known to dragonkind. Trained to infiltrate society, Ember wants to live the teen experience and enjoy a summer of freedom before taking her destined place in Talon. But destiny is a matter of perspective, and a rogue dragon will soon challenge everything Ember has been taught. As Ember struggles to accept her future, she and her brother are hunted by the Order of St. George.

Soldier Garret Xavier Sebastian has a mission to seek and destroy all dragons, and Talon's newest recruits in particular. But he cannot kill unless he is certain he has found his prey: and nothing is certain about Ember Hill. Faced with Ember's bravery, confidence and all-too-human desires, Garret begins to question everything that the Order has ingrained in him: and what he might be willing to give up to find the truth about dragons.
header-book-review animated-gif-liv-taylor-lotrI stand before you, still wallowing in the tears that began to flow from my eyes while reading TALON by Julie Kagawa. No, they were not tears of sadness due to the emotional level of the story. More-so, they were tears of sadness because of the complete loss of (the apparently much-too-high) hopes, dreams and expectations that I’d held for this book.

Continue reading

Deceived by the Hype Monster!

betrayal

Deceived.

That is how I’m feeling right now…
Or more like: Sheepish. Put in my place. Stooged.

I recently fell victim to the Hype Monster. And HARD.

Has that ever happened to you?

Imagine this scenario: A new book has just been announced. You may have read the author’s previous novels and have sung their praises every step of the way… Or let’s say there’s a soon-to-be-released book by a debut author which has all the publications, news sources, bloggers and your father’s second cousin twice removed buzzing. Of course the whole world is going to go ga-ga over it, right? Even though the book hasn’t even been freaking released yet? Still, you would do anything - anything, shy of stealing or committing mass genocide - just to get your greedy little hands on the book…

Continue reading